Truthdig prevailed over stiff competition to take home a 2013 Webby Award on Tuesday as best political website. The other contenders for political website, competing during the 2012 presidential election year, were The Nation magazine, Politico, and 92Y Campaign for the American Conversation.

Truthdig had also been nominated in the political blog category. A big congratulations goes to The New York Times for taking home that prize for Nate Silver’s FiveThirtyEight. It’s that blog’s second consecutive Webby.

This is Truthdig’s fifth Webby win overall. We’re honored to have been nominated again and happy to share the win with our contributors and our readers. Thank you to everyone who voted in the People’s Voice section of the competition. A ceremony to congratulate the winners of the 17th annual Webby Awards will be held May 22 and hosted by comedian Patton Oswalt. Click here to see the winning lineup.

Special honors went to Steve Wilhite for Webby lifetime achievement, Frank Ocean as the Webby person of the year, Jerry Seinfeld for outstanding comedic performance, Kevin Spacey and Dana Brunetti for Special Achievement, Grimes as the Webby artist of the year and Obama for America 2012 as the Webby breakout of the year.

Established in 1996, the Webby is regarded as “the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet, including websites, interactive advertising and media, online film and video, mobile and apps, and social.” The contest received more than 11,000 entries from all 50 states and more than 60 countries this year. It is presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences.

Your support matters…

Independent journalism is under threat and overshadowed by heavily funded mainstream media.

You can help level the playing field. Become a member.

Your tax-deductible contribution keeps us digging beneath the headlines to give you thought-provoking, investigative reporting and analysis that unearths what's really happening- without compromise.

Give today to support our courageous, independent journalists.