Subscribe

secular

on

Not only did Bill O'Reilly play a big part in constructing the notion of an ongoing culture war in America, but he's determined to be the No. 1 embedded reporter on its front lines. Here, he talks to Newt Gingrich about the recent anti-Proposition 8 demonstrations around the U.S.

on

With all the subtlety of a jackhammer, an enterprising right-wing artiste by the name of Mike Meehan has recorded an election-year anthem, "Please Don't Vote for a Democrat," and has launched a corresponding PR campaign via the Internet and billboard ads -- like this one in noted liberal stronghold Orange County, Florida -- in hopes of striking fear and indignation into the hearts of undecided voters.

on

Following a heated debate, the British House of Lords approved an amendment that does away with the UK's long-standing common law against blasphemy -- a watershed moment that some believe was too long in coming.

by on

In the tradition of Sam Harris, Truthdig introduces secularist radio show host and author Barry Seidman, who argues in this essay that the new religious left could prove to be just as dangerous and divisive to the country as the religious right, because the admonitions of Abrahamic religious texts can never be reconciled with democracy.

Personalize your Truthdig experience. Choose authors to follow, bookmark your favorite articles and more.
Your Truthdig, your way. Access your favorite authors, articles and more.
or
or

A password will be e-mailed to you.

Statements and opinions expressed in articles and comments are those of the authors, not Truthdig. Truthdig takes no responsibility for such statements or opinions.