Subscribe

centrist

on

President Obama says he thinks gay marriage should be legal, but isn't looking to legislate. JPMorgan Chase, the "best of the banks," loses a $2 billion bet and reignites the debate over bank regulation. The French election has austerity hawks worrying about a resocialized euro, and Indiana Sen. Richard Lugar's primary loss could usher in a new era of ideological warfare.

on

Another Democrat is leaving the fold on Capitol Hill. Sen. Evan Bayh announced Monday that he won't seek re-election this fall after 11 years in the Senate, pointing to recent partisan politicking in Congress as the main reason for his departure. "People's business is not getting done," Bayh said, making sure to point out that he's not making this move because he thinks he wouldn't win.

on

Here we have one of the unnamed senators whom New York Times columnist Paul Krugman collectively branded "proud centrist[s]" in his column Sunday, people who have put politics before the good of the country in whittling down the stimulus bill. What say you, Sen. Ben Nelson from Nebraska?

by on

In the tradition of Sam Harris, Truthdig introduces secularist radio show host and author Barry Seidman, who argues in this essay that the new religious left could prove to be just as dangerous and divisive to the country as the religious right, because the admonitions of Abrahamic religious texts can never be reconciled with democracy.

Personalize your Truthdig experience. Choose authors to follow, bookmark your favorite articles and more.
Your Truthdig, your way. Access your favorite authors, articles and more.
or
or

A password will be e-mailed to you.

Statements and opinions expressed in articles and comments are those of the authors, not Truthdig. Truthdig takes no responsibility for such statements or opinions.