The Los Angeles Press Club held its 53rd annual Southern California Journalism Awards on Sunday night, and Truthdig emerged triumphant from the historic Millennium Biltmore hotel, taking home prizes for Best Website Exclusive to the Internet, Best Online Sports Writing and Online Journalist.

The judicial panel described Truthdig as a whole as a “good-looking, interactive and deep website.” The sports award went to Mark Heisler for his piece Role Models for the Id, which the Press Club’s judges called “very informative, entertaining, witty and provocative” (we agree); and Truthdig columnists Chris Hedges and Robert Scheer drew second-place and honorable-mention accolades, respectively, in the Online Journalist lineup.

Check out the complete list of winners at this year’s event, at which “60 Minutes” correspondent Lesley Stahl, NBC News senior foreign correspondent Richard Engel and KTTV investigative reporter John Schwada were also honored, here.

LA Press Club:

The club presented its first Public Service Award to the two LA Times reporters — Ruben Vives and Jeff Gottlieb — who broke the Bell salary scandal.

Reason Magazine’s Radley Balko, who was Print Journalist of the Year (circulation under 50,000), was named Best of Show Journalist of the Year and received $1,000.

Read more

Wait, before you go…

If you're reading this, you probably already know that non-profit, independent journalism is under threat worldwide. Independent news sites are overshadowed by larger heavily funded mainstream media that inundate us with hype and noise that barely scratch the surface.  We believe that our readers deserve to know the full story. Truthdig writers bravely dig beneath the headlines to give you thought-provoking, investigative reporting and analysis that tells you what’s really happening and who’s rolling up their sleeves to do something about it.

Like you, we believe a well-informed public that doesn’t have blind faith in the status quo can help change the world. Your contribution of as little as $5 monthly or $35 annually will make you a groundbreaking member and lays the foundation of our work.

Support Truthdig