According to the muckrakers at TPM, some independent media types were refused entry to a “Going Rogue” event in the world capital of Sarah Palin, Wasilla, Alaska, because their names were on a “banned list.”

The list, which is reported to be only four names long, included a videographer, a blogger and a local radio personality. The fourth person is unknown.

The event was held at the Curtis D. Menard Memorial Sports Center, the $14.7 million boondoggle Palin championed as mayor of the town of 6,300 (at the time).

We understand why Palin would want to keep hostile press away from her homecoming, but why ban a videographer who insists he has never included commentary with his straight reports of Palin’s speeches? Maybe it has something to do with the crowds that show up to these things and the ability of YouTube to shame them (see below). — PZS

TPM Muckraker:

Meanwhile, [Jesse] Griffin [of the Immoral Minority blog] had approached the ticket office and also had his picture taken. When he turned around after writing his name in a book, a Wasilla police officer in full uniform was waiting to escort him out of the building. “‘The banned list’ was the term that was used a couple different times,” Griffin tells us.

“When I turned back to talk to Dennis” — Griffin’s ride home — “the officer put his hand on my shoulder and told me to keep going toward the exit,” he says.

“They were anxious to get us out the door quickly. I guess they felt like they were going to have some kind of unseemly incident,” says Griffin, who wrote about the experience on his blog. “But that certainly wasn’t going to happen.”

Read more

Your support matters…

Independent journalism is under threat and overshadowed by heavily funded mainstream media.

You can help level the playing field. Become a member.

Your tax-deductible contribution keeps us digging beneath the headlines to give you thought-provoking, investigative reporting and analysis that unearths what's really happening- without compromise.

Give today to support our courageous, independent journalists.