Investigative journalist Greg Palast has received the Eleanor Roosevelt Award from the Southern California branch of Americans for Democratic Action.

Palast, whose work has been featured on Truthdig, received the award last Sunday. A press release states:

The award was given to Greg for his: “Superlative investigative reporting and media coverage in the areas of human and democratic rights.”

“What an honor to get the Eleanor Roosevelt Award, because in my house she was our goddess,” said Palast at the awards ceremony, which was held in the grounds of a private home in Santa Monica.

“I always think of Adlai Stevenson’s words at her memorial,” Palast continued. “He said, Eleanor Roosevelt would rather light a candle than curse the darkness. And I think that all I do is curse the darkness. That’s my business. I’d be out of a job if it wasn’t for cursing the darkness. ”

Jan Goodman of ADA SoCal, who opened her home for the ceremony, presented Palast with the award, which she said was given to Palast for “reporting on human and democratic rights.”

“It’s become your life’s work, and we are joining you in your life’s work, because this is what ADA is all about also,” said Goodman as she handed a bronze statue of Roosevelt to Palast.

The Americans for Democratic Action was co-founded by Eleanor Roosevelt in 1947.

Palast also received a Certificate of Congressional Recognition signed by Rep. Ted Lieu, D-Calif.:

Watch video of the award ceremony below:

Read Truthdig Deputy Editor Kasia Anderson’s interview with Palast on voter suppression here. Watch Palast on a past episode of “Live at Truthdig” here.

–Posted by Emma Niles.

Your support matters…

Independent journalism is under threat and overshadowed by heavily funded mainstream media.

You can help level the playing field. Become a member.

Your tax-deductible contribution keeps us digging beneath the headlines to give you thought-provoking, investigative reporting and analysis that unearths what's really happening- without compromise.

Give today to support our courageous, independent journalists.