The people of the Chicago and Cleveland areas voted Anita Alvarez and Tim McGinty out of office in primaries on Tuesday. Alvarez had been the state’s attorney for Cook County, Ill., since 2008, and McGinty had been the prosecutor for Cuyahoga County, Ohio, since 2013. The two entered the national consciousness for their roles in the cases stemming from the police killings of Laquan McDonald, 17, and Tamir Rice, 12, two African-Americans shot by officers in Chicago and Cleveland, respectively.

Both killings were captured on camera, and both cases sparked widespread accusations of injustice because of the ways the investigations were handled. In the Rice case, the police officer who shot the boy was not indicted, and McGinty is alleged to have influenced the grand jury’s decision to return no indictment.

The McDonald case in Chicago is ongoing. Activists accused Alvarez of deliberately delaying the investigation, and they targeted her on Twitter with a #ByeAnita hashtag.

Supporters of police reform now are focused on the next steps after the defeats of Alvarez and McGinty at the ballot box.

Sonali Kolhatkar, host and executive producer of “Uprising” and a Truthdig columnist, spoke with journalist and writer Sarah Macaraeg about Alvarez’s loss to Kim Foxx. They discussed the influence of Black Lives Matter on current political races, Chicago’s “particular style of activist,” the impact of social media on voter canvassing, and what Macaraeg called Alvarez’s “egregious” record on criminal justice. “She’s out of office, but look at the damage that’s already been done,” Macaraeg said.

Listen to the full “Uprising” interview here.

–Posted by Emma Niles

Wait, before you go…

If you're reading this, you probably already know that non-profit, independent journalism is under threat worldwide. Independent news sites are overshadowed by larger heavily funded mainstream media that inundate us with hype and noise that barely scratch the surface.  We believe that our readers deserve to know the full story. Truthdig writers bravely dig beneath the headlines to give you thought-provoking, investigative reporting and analysis that tells you what’s really happening and who’s rolling up their sleeves to do something about it.

Like you, we believe a well-informed public that doesn’t have blind faith in the status quo can help change the world. Your contribution of as little as $5 monthly or $35 annually will make you a groundbreaking member and lays the foundation of our work.

Support Truthdig