Enrique Pena Nieto, the presidential candidate from the centrist Institutional Revolutionary Party (PRI) in Mexico, has claimed victory with 38 percent of the vote with 92 percent of precincts reporting. PRI held power in Mexico from 1929 until 2000, when conservative PAN’s Vicente Fox won the presidency.

Andres Manuel Lopez Obrador of the leftist PRD has not conceded, saying he would await the completion of ballot counting and full legal review of the election before admitting defeat. Lopez Obrador gained 30 percent of the votes, and Josefina Vazquez Mota of the ruling PAN has already conceded with 25 percent.

‘Democracy Now!’:

Read more


You know the story. Independent journalism is under threat and overshadowed by heavily funded mainstream media. During this holiday season, you can help level the playing field. Become a member.

Your tax-deductible contribution keeps us digging beneath the headlines to give you thought-provoking, investigative reporting and analysis that unearth what's really happening- without compromise. Give today to support our courageous, independent journalists.

As always, we wish you truth, reason and the best of the season!