Top Leaderboard, Site wide
September 22, 2014
Truthdig: Drilling Beneath the Headlines
Help us grow by sharing
and liking Truthdig:
Sign up for Truthdig's Email NewsletterLike Truthdig on FacebookFollow Truthdig on TwitterSubscribe to Truthdig's RSS Feed

Newsletter

sign up to get updates


Record CO2 Levels Fuel Urgent Calls for Emissions Cuts




A Chronicle of Echoes


Truthdig Bazaar
Kalki

Kalki

By Gore Vidal
$10.80

Acting Together: Performance and the Creative Transformation of Conflict: Volume I

Acting Together: Performance and the Creative Transformation of Conflict: Volume I

By Cynthia Cohen (Editor); Roberto Gutierrez Varea (Editor); Polly O. Walker (Editor); Dijana Milosevic (Contribution by); Charles Mulekwa (Contribution by)
$21.95

more items

 
Report

Here’s One Way to Land on the NSA’s Watch List

Email this item Email    Print this item Print    Share this item... Share

Posted on Jul 9, 2014

By Julia Angwin and Mike Tigas, ProPublica

Last week, German journalists revealed that the National Security Agency has a program to collect information about people who use privacy-protecting services, including popular anonymizing software called Tor. But it’s not clear how many users have been affected.

So we did a little sleuthing, and found that the NSA’s targeting list corresponds with the list of directory servers used by Tor between December 2010 and February 2012 – including two servers at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Tor users connect to the directory servers when they first launch the Tor service.

That means that if you downloaded Tor during 2011, the NSA may have scooped up your computer’s IP address and flagged you for further monitoring. The Tor Project is a nonprofit that receives significant funding from the U.S. government.

The revelations were among the first evidence of specific spy targets inside the United States. And they have been followed by yet more evidence. The Intercept revealed this week that the government monitored email of five prominent Muslim-Americans, including a former Bush Administration official.

It’s not clear if, or how extensively, the NSA spied on the users of Tor and other privacy services.

Advertisement

Square, Site wide
After the news, one of Tor’s original developers, Roger Dingledine, reassured users that they most likely remained anonymous while using the service: “Tor is designed to be robust to somebody watching traffic at one point in the network – even a directory authority.” It is more likely that users could have been spied on when they were not using Tor.

For its part, the NSA says it only collects information for valid foreign intelligence purposes and that it “minimizes” information it collects about U.S. residents. In other words, NSA may have discarded any information it obtained about U.S. residents who downloaded Tor.

However, according to a recent report by the Privacy and Civil Liberties Oversight Board, the NSA’s minimization procedures vary by program. Under Prism, for example, the NSA shares unminimized data with the FBI and CIA.

In addition, the NSA can also later search the communications of those it has inadvertently caught in its Prism dragnet, a tactic some have called a ” backdoor” search. It’s not clear if similar backdoors exist for other types of data such as IP addresses.

In response to the Tor news, the NSA said it is following President Obama’s January directive to not conduct surveillance for the purpose of “suppressing or burdening criticism or dissent, or for disadvantaging persons based on their ethnicity, race, gender, sexual orientation, or religion.”

[Disclosure: Mike Tigas is the developer of an app that uses Tor, called the Onion Browser.]

We updated our chart of NSA revelations to include monitoring of privacy software.

For the geeks, here are the IP addresses of the were listed in the NSA Xkeyscore code and when they were added or removed from the list of Tor directory servers:

193.23.244.244Added: Fri, 12 Feb 2010 15:31:08 -0400 (14:31 -0500)

194.109.206.212Added: Sat, 8 Apr 2006 17:03:49 -0400 (21:03 +0000)

86.59.21.38 Added: Sat, 5 Nov 2005 16:20:51 -0400 (20:20 +0000)

213.115.239.118Added: Thu, 10 Jun 2010 10:56:08 -0400 (16:56 +0200)Removed: Wed, 29 Feb 2012 14:22:41 -0400 (13:22 -0500)

212.112.245.170Added: Thu, 16 Dec 2010 08:10:19 -0400 (13:10 +0100)

128.31.0.39Added Wed, 14 Oct 2009 19:36:08 -0400 (19:36 -0400)

216.224.124.114Added: Wed, 7 Nov 2007 17:20:45 -0400 (21:20 +0000)Removed: on Wed, 4 Apr 2012 19:51:04 -0400 (01:51 +0200)

208.83.223.34Added: Mon, 10 Aug 2009 01:32:51 -0400 (01:32 -0400)


New and Improved Comments

If you have trouble leaving a comment, review this help page. Still having problems? Let us know. If you find yourself moderated, take a moment to review our comment policy.

 
Right 1, Site wide - BlogAds Premium
 
Right 2, Site wide - Blogads
 
Join the Liberal Blog Advertising Network
 
 
 
Right Skyscraper, Site Wide
 
Join the Liberal Blog Advertising Network
 

A Progressive Journal of News and Opinion   Publisher, Zuade Kaufman   Editor, Robert Scheer
© 2014 Truthdig, LLC. All rights reserved.

Like Truthdig on Facebook