With the governor’s signature, California becomes the fourth state to ban drivers from holding cellphones while driving. The law goes into effect in July 2008, and motorists will still be allowed to use hands-free phone technology.
Cool tidbit: Schwarzenegger said he sometimes follows his 16-year-old daughter to make sure she’s not driving while holding a phone.
SACRAMENTO ? California became the fourth state in the country to ban motorists from holding cellphones while driving, under legislation Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger signed today.
The governor signed the bill in Oakland, ending a five-year campaign by Sen. Joe Simitian (D-Palo Alto) to outlaw one of the most common distractions of California drivers.
Under the law, which will take effect in July 2008, Californians risk a minimum $20 fine for driving while yakking into a phone ? unless they are using a headset, speaker phone, ear bud or some other technology that frees both hands while they talk. Drivers in emergency situations would be exempt.
“Public safety is the governor’s No. 1 priority,” Schwarzenegger spokeswoman Margita Thompson said Thursday, “and this bill will make the streets and highways of California safer by ensuring that drivers have both hands available for driving.”