Top Leaderboard, Site wide
November 29, 2014
Truthdig: Drilling Beneath the Headlines
Sign up for Truthdig's Email NewsletterLike Truthdig on FacebookFollow Truthdig on TwitterSubscribe to Truthdig's RSS Feed

Get Truthdig's headlines in your inbox!






The Chain


Truthdig Bazaar
Hitch-22: A Memoir

Hitch-22: A Memoir

By Christopher Hitchens
$16.19

more items

 
Arts and Culture

Philip Roth Quietly Calls it Quits

Email this item Email    Print this item Print    Share this item... Share

Posted on Nov 9, 2012
cdrummbks (CC BY 2.0)

The glum-faced author announced what appears to be his retirement in a “little-noticed” interview with a French magazine. “To tell you the truth, I’m done,” Roth told Les Inrocks in October, adding that he has not written anything in three years.

Roth was widely seen as the United States’ best hope of ending two decades without a Nobel Prize for literature. Enthusiasts of the form of the novel worldwide have expressed frustration and incredulity that Roth hasn’t received the prize.

“Can we please stop the nonsense and give Philip Roth a Nobel Prize for Literature before he dies?” wrote novelist, poet and journalist Michael Bourne in an open letter to the Swedish Academy in September 2011.

—Posted by Alexander Reed Kelly.

The Guardian:

The work of Roth, already the recipient of the Man Booker international prize, the Pulitzer and the National Book award, was described by the Asturias judges as forming “part of the great American novel, in the tradition of Dos Passos, Scott Fitzgerald, Hemingway, Faulkner, Bellow and Malamud.”

The jury said Roth’s “characters, events and plots form a complex view of contemporary reality torn between reason and feeling, such as the sign of the times and the sense of unease about the present,” and praised his “literary quality, [which] is displayed in his fluid, incisive writing”.

Read more


New and Improved Comments

If you have trouble leaving a comment, review this help page. Still having problems? Let us know. If you find yourself moderated, take a moment to review our comment policy.

 
Monsters of Our Own Creation? Get tickets for this Truthdig discussion of America's role in the Middle East.
Right 1, Site wide - BlogAds Premium
 
Right Skyscraper, Site Wide
Right 2, Site wide - Blogads
 
Join the Liberal Blog Advertising Network
 
 
 

A Progressive Journal of News and Opinion   Publisher, Zuade Kaufman   Editor, Robert Scheer
© 2014 Truthdig, LLC. All rights reserved.

Like Truthdig on Facebook